Long Time Gone

And…here we go! I promised myself I’d resurrect this blog, starting today. There’s a woman who puts together a “Friday Fill in” every week, so I’ll ease my way back to blogging with that.

1. The first rule of working in an office and getting along is” respect everybody else’s space”. Don’t barge into their office/cubicle when they’re working, and don’t stink the place up with burned microwave popcorn. I’m actually very glad I don’t work in a typical office setting. My office is tucked away down a little corridor; easy enough for my students to find me if they need to, but not on the “main drag.” I love my little office!

2. I love steamed clams, especially if the broth has coconut milk and hot peppers in it.

3. When I think of carnivals I think of cotton candy and riding on the scary ride that’s sort of a ferris wheel, but they put you in an enclosed little boxy thing and whirl you around and the boxy thing flips over and your change falls out of your pocket, and you think that maybe the cotton candy wasn’t such a god idea.

4. Tulips and irises are my favorite spring flower(s).

5. Things on my desk include a ruler with all the U.S. presidents on it, a tea mug (Heather Fargo for Mayor), and a picture frame with pictures of my family. Oh, and that huge stack of exams I’m supposed to be grading.

6. My dog Lucy makes me wanna play.

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to relaxing after a day of grading (see above), tomorrow my plans include a day-long class with the amazing Lucy Neatby!!! and a Rotary fundraiser/dinner with the Jones’s and Sunday, I want to enjoy the second day of classes with Lucy.

That was funnish. But this is a knitting blog, and I do knit. In the past couple of months I’ve actually finished a few things. And, of course, I’ve started more than I’ve finsihed!

I’m in the Harry Potter Knit and Crochet House Cup group on Ravelry, and much of my knitting over the past couple of months was to earn points for Hufflepuff house.

I wrecked my wrist making a felted carpet bag for my Transfiguration OWL. Double-stranded worsted weight yarn and size 15 needles are the spawn of Satan were not my friends, but I love the bag. The yarn (Plymouth Boku) is self-striping, so matching up the striping sequence on two skeins at a time was a bit of a bother, but not too bad.

Felted Carpet bag

Felted Carpet bag

I also earned a Charms OWL with a shawl I knit using motifs from Evelyn Clark’s Knitting Triangular Shawls. Soft sage green Zephyr wool/silk. One of my favorite lace weight yarns. I’ve actually worn this shawl. Twice!

And finally, here are a couple of  pictures of a little bag I knit/felted/needle-felted to practice Judy’s Magic Cast-on. I miscalculated the stitches necessary for the triangular flap, so I just trimmed away the excess.

OK, that’s enough. Time to make another cup of tea and start moving mountains of exams from the ungraded side of the desk to the graded side.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Long Time Gone

  1. welcome back!
    hope you are enjoying the weekend.
    i look forward to seeing your daily entries for the month of may!

Leave a Reply

