I’m creating a monster

It all started so innocently.  My friend Betsy showed up at our Sunday knitting group in early May with the beginning of a baby blanket she was making out of leftover sock yarn.  I remembered the one Shelly Kang made out of the mountain of yarn she was sent after the Yarn Harlot found out about it and suggested her readers bury Shelly in sock yarn scraps.  Cute, I thought, and went back to my shawl.

When I got home, I decided to go through my sock yarn stash and wind off some wee balls for Betsy, then decided to just knit one little square for myself.  Just to, you know, see what all the fuss was about.  Fast forward a few months, and voila, my monster!

Once I started, I couldn’t stop.  I was like a knitter in a Lays potato chip factory. I’ve been a mitered square knitting maniac ever since!  Ravelry has a Blankiemania group, which of course I’ve joined, and there are lots of swaps going on, so I’ve got a little box of sock yarn scraps to keep me busy for a while.  So far, my blanket has yarn from several states and a number of countries, including Malaysia, England, Ireland, Canada and Sweden!  Lots of friends have sent or geven me yarn, too, so my blanket has “Beth, Betsy, Lorna, Shiela, Jude, Christina, Amy, Lisa, Michele, Kimberly….” squares.  I love it muchly, and in a year or so it should be finished.

In an effort to spread the blanket virus to others, I offered to teach a mitered squares class at Babetta’s, my favorite local yarn shop, and it filled in a couple of hours!  Apparently, the lure of the wee square is universal.  We had a blast, and now several Sacramento knitters are busily working on blankets of their own.  I feel a bit like Dr. Frakenstein, but in a good way.

That’s me in the black top, teaching a few of the “students” how to join their squares.  It was so much fun teaching a class people actually want to take.  Introduction to American Government is not exactly everyone’s favorite class!  Everyone was asked to bring balls of yarn to swap, and that part was really fun, too.

Speaking of monsters, this is Lucy.

She’s bigger than this now, and I adore every inch of her.  She’s a yellow lab, and we got her about 3 months ago.  I need to take a newer picture of her, which I’ll do just as soon as she stops running around for three seconds straight.  Her presence in our lives has made it easier to cope with the loss of Cooper, who died over the summer.  She was 16, and we got her right after we got married.  I loved her every day of her life, and still miss her a lot.

So, what’s new with you?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’m creating a monster

  1. Yay. A post!

    Good job on the sock blanket.

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your dog over the summer. It’s always hard to loose a pet.

    The new puppy is cute. They change so fast when they are young, more recent photo soon please!

    Hugs,
    Melinda
    x

  2. Yay – a post! LOVING The wee Doggy and loving the Sock Blankie.

    We want more posts!
    We want more posts!

Leave a Reply

