Live From The Middle of Nowhere

I’m in North Carolina. Brevard, to be exact.  It’s not really the middle of nowhere; in fact it’s quite a nice little town.  My cousin and her husband work at the summer music festival here during the summer, so I’m here with my mom, dad, aunt and uncle for a week or so.  It’s just that there’s no computer access except for the library, so I can’t post pictures for you.  It’s a beautiful place, tho.  We also can’t get cellphone reception from our vacation house (I guess being in the mountains will do that).  I feel a bit bohemian.  But the good news is, there is a yarn shop here, and I’m gonna mosey on down there as soon as I’m done checking my emails, and writing this post. I’m pretty sure it’s mosey-ing that they do here in the south.

 Tomorrow is the 4th of July, and there’s big doings in Brevard all day long.  I’m mostly looking forward to the pet show at 9:30 tomorrow morning!

On the knitting front, I’ve finished the first of a pair of socks using Gems Opal that my friend Emmy gave me from her vast stash, and I’m really pleased with how it turned out. Imagine if you will, a dark sagey-mossy green sock knit top down in the crosshatch lace pattern from the 2nd Sensational Knitted Socks book.

Off to hike down to the other end of the street to the yarn shop!  have a great holiday!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Live From The Middle of Nowhere

  1. It sounds lovely and peaceful – perfect for knitting, and sitting and relaxing….looking forward to photos when you return.

  2. Nice to see you are enjoying your visit back to the east coast. The shawl looks very pretty.

  3. My mental image of the socks looks great! Can’t wait to see the real things. 🙂

  4. I love that part of the state–but yeah, no cell phone reception except in Asheville. 🙂 Hope you’ve had a great time.

    (from VV Swap)

  5. Thought I would “come out of the bushes” where I’ve been lurking and reading your blog. I imagine being “unplugged” with no cell phone and no computer would knock you off your routine. Sounds wonderful though. Hope it’s cooler there than here in Sacramento: last week it was 108 (translation: very hot).

Leave a Reply

