One Journey Ends, Another Begins

I’m so stoked!  I sent Kathy’s stole to her this morning.  It always feels so good to finish a big project, and this one is special to me, becasue my sister is about my favorite person in the world.  After I unpinned it from the blocking board, I pranced around the house with it, then flitted from one UFO to another.  I couldn’t decide what to work on next.  For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been about as loyal to one project as I ever am in my knitting universe, so working on Sheelagh, or the Sampler Stole from GOL was like coming back to an old friend.  We just picked up where we left off!  Of course, I’ve also cheated on the stole a bit, but just with socks, which hardly even counts as flirting. Some details, and some pics:

Pattern:  Lacey Lattice Stole, by Fiddlesticks

Yarn:  about 130 grams of light lavendar 4-ply cashmere from Colourmart

Blocked: 21 inches wide, 68 inches long

Here it is blocking:
622698298_8664d9ef35_m1.jpg

Here it is on me (I swear, I’m not usually standing straight as a rod)
622725140_971986c478_m1.jpg

And here it is, totally matching my toes!
622698362_e97508918b_m1.jpg

So, that’s one journey finished. Another begins tonight, as I leave on a red-eye to North Carolina for a 2 week visit with my folks. The first week I’ll be working as a volunteer at the U.S. Women’s Open golf tournament, which is being held in Southern Pines, where my parents live. I’m on the Player Hospitality Committee, so I’ll be helping out in the locker room. Much better than doing something that will require me to be outside in the NC heat! It’s hot here in Sacramento, too, but as we like to say, “it’s a dry heat.” Pics and posts when I get back. My parents don’t have a computer!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “One Journey Ends, Another Begins

  1. Gasp! First time seeing your blog (surfing through the MS3 list) and I love your top photo of the books. I love photos of old books…also the purple stole is loverly too.

  2. I have kept this post on bloglines as a reminder to remind me to let you know this is BEAUTIFUL! And the toes too.

Leave a Reply

