Toward the Finish Line (finally)

I’ve always thought the Aesop’s fable about the tortoise and hare is pretty lame.  “Slow and steady” may win the race, but only if the rabbit is an idiot. Fast and steady would win every time.  That said, I’m a bit of a turtle when it comes to knitting.  I can talk a mile a minute, but my fingers just don’t move as fast.  I’ve been working feverishly, if ploddingly,  on Kathy’s stole.  I hope to finish by Friday, block the blasted thing on Saturday, show it off to my knitting buds on Sunday and mail it to Kathy on Monday. I swear, I’m starting to hear the opening song from Les Miserables every time I look at this project:  “Look down, look down, you’ll always be a slave…”  I hate knitting to a deadline!!

As is my habit, I’ve also been dabbling in this and that.  Mostly socks.  I seem to have a bit of a foot fetish.  This is my current fav:  my own self-striping yarn.  Handpainting yarn is pretty easy, but doing the self-striping stuff is a real PIA.  I see why they charge more for it, and actually think they undercharge, for all the work involved.  You’ve gotta make a huge skein, then section off the striping sequences, then dye them, then let them dry, then roll the yarn into a ball.  (I have no idea how to re-skein the yarn into an actual skein.)  But it’s a fun kind of PIA, and I’ll be doing it again as I love the result.
577075323_17380508e9_m1.jpg
Pretty cool, huh? I’ve also been working on some other socks: I finished these: Koigu feather and fan.  I’m also working on 2 or 3 other pair.

koigufeatherandfan2.jpg

With any luck at all, I’ll be able to post a photo of Kathy’s stole before I send it off to her!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Toward the Finish Line (finally)

  1. Purdy colours…..and I had a look around for how to use a Nostepinde so you can wind your own centre pull balls –

    http://www.hatchtown.com/nostdir.html

    You can buy and expensive nostepinde but they are very simple to make. A rolled up piece of paper is sufficient, but a bit more expensive is piece of dowel with a diameter van 2 cam that has been sanded smooth and varnished.

    Hold the nostepinde in the left hand.

    Hold the beginning end of the roving in place at the top of the pin.

    Make a couple of wraps to reach the middle of the pin.

    Continue to go diagonal from the left to the right side, and continuing to turn the nostepinde so that the crossing lies in a new place each time.

    think that will cover it.

    BTW – I am a Hare and A Turtle too – but we already know we are the same with that.

Leave a Reply

